Hyderabad-based Anindith Reddy was named as the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI) ‘Motorsport Person of the Year 2017’ for his outstanding double achievement last year in the Indian motor racing scene.

Reddy first won the MRF F1600 title and followed it up with successfully defending his Euro JK crown. He also collected a cash prize of Rs. 2 lakhs. “I would like to thank the FMSCI for honouring me with this award, as also for creating various platforms for young motorsports enthusiasts in the country to sharpen their skills,” he said.

The ‘Lifetime Achievement’ award was conferred to former FMSCI President and K1000 rally winner, KD Madan. Since he was out of country, his son JD Madan took up the award from chief guest Justice MS Ramesh in the presence of the FIA APRC President Vicky Chandhok and FMSCI President Akbar Ebrahim.

The event in Chennai saw several anecdotal and inspiring speeches from FIA World Motor Sport Council India representative Gautam Singhania, Ramesh, Chandhok and Ebrahim. Also, the recently elected FIM Asia Vice President Sujith Kumar was honoured along with YN Bharadwaj and VS Shrikanth.

The ‘Outstanding Achievement for Women’ went to two-wheel racers Aishwarya Pissay, Rheyna Bee and Kalyani Potekar, while in the four-wheel category it was Mira Erda taking away the trophy. Meanwhile, the ‘Outstanding Achievement in World Motorsports’ had a long list of receivers.

It was presented to Gaurav Gill, Aditya Patel, Armaan Ebrahim, Abhilash PG, Jehan Daruvala, Arjun Maini, Kush Maini, Akhil Rabindra, Krishnaraaj Mahadik, Ricky Donison, Nayan Chatterjee, Ruhaan Alva, Shahan Ali Mohsin, Shrikanth Gowda, Raahil Shetty and Yuvraj Singh.

The champion drivers, teams and manufacturers in the respective two-wheel and four-wheel categories competing in the various Indian National Championships in the 2017 season were also presented with their winning trophies.

FMSCI President Ebrahim laid down future plans for Indian motorsport with the idea of including drifting and autocross in National Championship, while crosskart (buggy) and rallycross was also to be introduced. As been discussed since early 2017, a round of FIA World Rallycross is also being planned.