Ameya Vaidyanathan will compete full-time in the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship for Carlin alongside the already announced Jehan Daruvala, Ferdinand Habsburg, Sacha Fenestraz, Devlin Defrancesco and Nikita Troitskiy.

The Indian becomes the sixth driver in Carlin’s line-up, while the 23rd in the 2018 F3 season. This is also his third year with the British team after joining them to race in the BRDC British F3 and Euroformula Open in 2016. He spent 2017 in EF Open, where he claimed his first-ever international victory at Spa.

The 21-year-old went on to finish fourth in the EF Open standings. He also entered in three rounds in the 2017 European F3 with a best result of 13th in the nine races. “It’s great to be moving up to FIA Formula Three in what is now my third year with Carlin,” said Vaidyanathan.

“Staying in the team was a no-brainer because I can see everyone’s commitment towards achieving the highest standards. I’ve really learnt so much during my time at Carlin thus far and I’m keen to put everything to good use to find my feet in such a competitive field.”

Team’s racing director Trevor Carlin commented: “This will be our third season working with Ameya and we’re pleased to see how much he has grown and accomplished in that time. He took his maiden win in the Euroformula Open Championship at Spa and has been consistently improving his race craft.

“We are extremely pleased to be working together in such competitive championship and look forward to seeing what he can achieve.”

Vaidyanathan’s first assignment will be the three pre-season tests in Hungaroring (March 22-23), Spielberg (March 26-27) and Misano (April 10-11). The 2018 F3 season kicks-off with Pau (France) during the May 11-13 weekend.

The season then follows on with rounds in Hungary (June 1-3), Germany (Norisring, June 22-24), Netherlands (July 13-15), Belgium (July 26-28), Britain (August 17-19), Italy (August 24-26), Germany (Nurburgring, September 7-9), Austria (September 21-23) and Germany (Hockenheim, October 12-14).

(Cover photograph: Picture credit: FIA European F3.)