If you didn’t think one-day cricket could get any faster or more furious, just wait until you watch the T10 format. Similar to T20 cricket, the structure is designed to promote attacking batting, bowling and fielding, something which can get lost in the longer formats of the game. And so far, it’s been a roaring success as the third edition of the competition took place in Abu Dhabi last year to lots of fanfare and publicity.

Unfortunately, the fact that the Indian Premier League was extended this year, and held in the UAE, meant the tournament had to be postponed until 2021. Still, the first fixture is only around the corner, and anticipation is at fever pitch, so the question is – who will win?

Maratha Arabians

All eight teams have been confirmed as entrants for next year’s competition, but with the first game not due to start until the end of January, some sides haven’t released their full quota of signings. With unpredictability rampant at the moment, it makes it even harder to look past the current reigning champions – the Maratha Arabians.

MA pretty much cruised to the top of the leaderboard and never looked back, being the only team to post a positive net run rate throughout the tournament. The final was even simpler, as Aussie Chris Lynn and Jamaican Chadwick Walton carved though the total with 16 balls to spare. If Lynn and Walton re-sign, MA’s powerful batting lineup will be hard to stop.

Northern Warriors

2019 wasn’t a great year for the Northern Warriors. Despite their strong side, they couldn’t get going and ended up at the bottom end of the table with six points from six games. Why is the side that finished sixth out of eight last year now in contention for the trophy? It's down to the strength of the squad. NW’s roster is heavily West Indian-based, which is a very smart move considering how good the West Indies are at the shorter formats of the game.

Not only that, but Nicholas Pooran and Andre Russell are two of the best batters and fielders in the world. Plus, even though he didn’t have a good IPL campaign, Russell knows the conditions. Throw sub-continent stalwarts into the mix – Wahab Riaz is wily and pacey, while Junaid Siddique has played at international level for the UAE – and Northern Warriors should be there or thereabouts when the tournament ends in February.

Delhi Bulls

The Delhi Bulls finished seventh last season, so their odds of winning appear longer than any team other than the Pune Devils. ECS T10 live score software doesn’t lie, and last time around, the best Abu Dhabi has to offer would struggle to compete with the European Cricket Series in Malta. However, the management has worked hard to give the DB a better shot of glory in 2021.

There are lots of positives, including the appointment of Andy Flower as the head coach. England cricket fans will remember him for his attention detail that took the team to number one in the world. The Bulls can also rely on Evin Lewis and Mohammad Nabi, two excellent T20 players. Still, the jewel in the crown is the signing of Dwayne Bravo.

With their new captain, anything is possible, including going from the number seventh team in the Abu Dhabi T10 to the number one side next year.

Cover Photo:

Source: Unsplash