SRINAGAR: At least two dozen protesters were injured during violent clashes in Pulwama district of Jammu and Kashmir on Wednesday where a civilian was shot dead by BSF personnel.

A complete shutdown was observed in parts of the district against the killing of Bilal Ahmed Bhat at Padgampora of Pulwama by BSF troopers who allegedly opened fire on youth protesting against the killing of two Lashkar-e-Toiba militant in an encounter at Lajoora on Tuesday.

Veteran Hurriyat leader, Syed Ali Geelani had called for a shutdown in the district against the civilian killing.

Shouting pro-freedom, anti-India and pro-Islam slogans, agitated protesters, including men, women and children, targeted CRPF personnel and police deployed on roads with stones in Padgampora.

Forces resorted to heavy teargas shelling and cane-charged the protesters during which at least two dozen civilians were injured, police said.

Reports said youth also clashed with forces at different places in Pulwama including Muran Chowk, Rajpora Chowk and Pirchu. Police used teargas shells to disperse the protesting youth. Soon after clashes, police imposed restrictions on the movement of people.

Residents alleged that the forces smashed windowpanes of residential houses and thrashed elderly people, "They went on a rampage and beat up everyone who came in their way including elderly people," Ghulam Rasool, a resident of Padgampora, told The Citizen over phone.

Thousands of people poured in at Padgampora village to participate in the funeral of Bilal who was laid to rest at the Martyrs Graveyard. Separatist leaders including Muhammad Yasin Malik, Javid Ahmed Mir, Mushtaq Ahmed Sofi and Ghulam Nabi Zaki were detained along with several leaders on their way to Padgampora.

Meanwhile, all the shops, business establishments and educational institutions remained shut in many villages of the district including Pulwama town while transport mostly remained off the roads.

A complete to partial shutdown was observed in Pampore, Kakpora, Ratnipora, Lajura, Lelhara, Talangam, Samboora, Tral, Awantipora, Padgampora, Tahab, Rajpora, Wasoora, Chakoora, Newa and other areas.